It’s NOT about following my dreams!

You read it right. It’s NOT about following my dreams. What? Are you serious? After all this rambling about following my dreams bla bla bla bla, now I say that it does NOT matter??

Yes, it doesn’t matter whether one day my dream will really come true or not. Of course, I will still fight for it and hope it will be a reality, but it isn’t about the end goal or the ambition.

In this post, I mention that I do know what I don’t want, but do not know what I want. Oh how could I be so silly? It’s just as simple as in a language test when you have to rewrite negative statement to positive without changing the meaning.

(-) I know that I don’t want to waste my lifetime doing something that I hate and wasting my talents.

(+) I know that I want to spend my lifetime doing something that I love and making use of my talents.

See? It’s as simple as that, isn’t it?

I don’t have to wait for ‘a dream comes true’, but rather I can start building a lifestyle that really resonates with my core value.

It’s simple, but maybe…not that easy.

Our days are mostly spent at work. Our lifestyle depends on what types of work that we do. I won’t try to convince anyone to shift their perspectives, but I’ll just be honest with what I have been longing all this time.

I have this longing of being able to make a living out of my creative talents. Not that because I want an easy life. In fact, life is not easy. Whatever we do, wherever we live, there will always be inevitable challenges.

I may be wrong at this…too naive to speak up, too young to understand, and too blind to see the truth… But maybe… deep inside our soul has this longing to be of use in this earth. It doesn’t have to something big, grant and noble. Even a small act of kindness can go a long, long way.

Acknowledgement and approval from others would be nice to know that we really contribute something. Material rewards help to pay the bills. But perhaps, what matter most is how sincere our heart is, to live the life that really speaks the truth from our heart, and to be of use.

I just gotta be honest. Writing a blog is hard. I keep trying to convince myself that I don’t need approval from others that they like what I write. The fact is I’m dying to know if my writings have been of any good for anyone. I keep trying to convince myself that I am not a people-pleaser, but OMG this thing just struck my mind today. I am really a people-pleaser. I do care how my works affect people. I am that naive kid who still dreams to change the world. Nothing will do any good to my sincere motivation unless that I admit and accept: I am a people-pleaser.

Isn’t that obvious? I love to write so that I can make impact, no matter how small it is, to other people’s lives. I love to cook and bake for the smile from the people who taste my food. I love to decorate and make things pretty to please people’s eyes. Hopefully what they see from the outside will bring happiness to inside their hearts too. That’s what I can think of to make my talents and myself to be of use. My happiness is really that simple.

The harsh truth for me that I have (hopefully) embraced is that: I can’t help and please everyone. Not everyone’s gonna love what I write, cook, bake, and create. Not even my own friends. I repeat, not even my own friends. But that’s okay. What I have to continue doing is doing what I can as long as I am still living on this earth. Whether it be writing, cooking, baking, creating things and stuffs. For my own kind of people. The right people will be there. Even if they’re just as few as my fingers on my hand, I still have to do what I have to do.

Most importantly, do it with a sincere heart.

To be of use.

One thought on “It’s NOT about following my dreams!

  1. Ranti Kristianti Susilo says:

    Dearest thepotatato,

    Lizzie McGuire was one of my favorite show and they have a quote somewhere in their episode ” Follow your heart it tells you what it’s right”

    Reading this post kinda remind me of that quote.

    BUT THE MOST IMPORTANT THING is acknowledging the truth
    “The harsh truth for me that I have (hopefully) embraced is that: I can’t help and please everyone. Not everyone’s gonna love what I write, cook, bake, and create. Not even my own friends. I repeat, not even my own friends. But that’s okay. What I have to continue doing is doing what I can as long as I am still living on this earth. Whether it be writing, cooking, baking, creating things and stuffs. For my own kind of people. The right people will be there. Even if they’re just as few as my fingers on my hand, I still have to do what I have to do.”

    I need to acknowledge this, even write in on my wall so i will always remember

    And the universe surely will provide 🙂

    Thank you for a very very wonderful writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

