Writing Challenge #10: How to find a life purpose

What? Two Writing Challenge in one day after three months absence? Yeah, right. They’re somehow related anyway.. Finding inspiration and finding a life purpose?

Can I just make a confession here?

I. don’t. know. how. to. find. a. life. purpose. People say some people won’t find any until they’re old and finally die.

I have no idea how it should be like.. To live my life with no regrets? To help the poor and homeless? To use all my talents and live my dreams? To be a millionaire? To serve the planet?

How noble should it be? Should it be anything noble in the first place? Well, we all know it should be something for a divine purpose..

Or a selfish purpose like… being famous and rich, is acceptable?

I guess it’s not my place to tell you how to find a life purpose. I mean, who am I? Just an unemployed who takes up this space on earth. Just wasting oxygen. I shall not give any advice to anyone on how to find a life purpose.

So lemme just share with you my story, if you’re interested. I’m sure you aren’t.

How should I start?

Well, when did I start to think about my life purpose? I didn’t recall anything serious before I was in my second year in university. But yeah when I was about 20.. I started to think about what I’m gonna do with my life. It’s not that same question like “What you’re gonna be when you grow up?” but… well… it was still something that was revolving around… about an ideal job or profession or career or whatever.

You get what I mean. When we’re asked about a life purpose, what usually comes to our mind is about that one calling, that one ideal job that we want to do for the rest of our lives. Well I dunno about you, but that’s what I did. I always assumed that a life purpose was equal to a lifetime career.

And a lifetime career was equal to a passion. That one thing. That passion damn thing.

See where I’m going here? Yeah, I’m that fool who believed and still believes in passion. I know that smart and practical people don’t care about passion. Sometimes I wish I could be like them. It would make life so much easier, wouldn’t it? There is no need to think about life purpose at all. No hassle. Just live day by day as it is.

So what I did was I tried so many things. I was, and am still, a believer that a hobby can be turned to a career. I took that oil painting course with a dream to sell my own paintings, gave that part-time tuition lesson in a hope I could be a primary school teacher, signed up for that sewing course with a dream to sell my own handmade stuffs, started baking sweet stuffs to have my own home baking business someday, and enrolled in that French class to be what? Well this one is just for nothing, just because I love French and I think it’s a beautiful language.

It turned out that they all failed. I failed to do my own mission to continue doing it. I’ve bid my farewells. But not because I have lost my interests. I still love them all. Paintings, arts, crafts, children or being childish, and French have always been the stuffs that turn me on.

One day, a lightning struck me.. That one day, I realized that a life purpose is not JUST about one’s career or profession. It’s one part of life to pay the bills. Yeah I know, I’m the fool here. I am not the smart and practical people who have realized this much earlier than me. We all need money to pay the bills. (Duh. Of course we do!!).

So who needs a dream job? Who needs a passion? Who needs to bother about a life purpose if paying the bills is the one ultimate life purpose?

Yeah yeah. it’s not about the job, but it doesn’t mean it is. just. it.

After that I realized there’s even more to it. I shouldn’t think life is just a box with one career choice. No. There is no box. They say to think outside of the box, don’t they? But what if there is no box?

Life is no box. Life is full of endless possibilities. Career is not the only aspect in life. Passion doesn’t limit to that dream job. There are others too. The people that we love. The places that we dream. The memories that we hold dear. The futures that we look forward to. The present that we are living in now.

Maybe you’re not living your passion. Maybe you’re still far from what you have been dreaming. Maybe you still have no idea what your life purpose is, but don’t stop to live in. purpose.

Yeah I know, I know, how to live in purpose if you don’t know what the purpose is??

I dunno. Maybe… just live? #YOLO?

Just imagine what if life is full of endless possibilities. What could we be?

Maybe you will still go to pursue your passion. Maybe you won’t. That’s up to you. Up to each of us. For me, I am still holding dear my baking hobby.. I don’t know what will become of it, but I’ll do my best to make my dream comes true. Still. I still do believe in pursuing one’s passion.

Some says it’s a choice. Some says it’s a fate.

Some believes in a leap of faith. Some believes in stability and security.

Some calls it life purpose. Some calls it daily living.

P.S: I know I have failed this challenge (don’t I always?), but I guess everyone has different thoughts about it and different ways to find it, if they do believe it anyway. Just be true to yourself while living in purpose, and I guess you’ll be fine. We’ll all be fine.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Challenge #10: How to find a life purpose

  1. Ranti Kristianti Susilo says:

    Dearest thepotatato,

    How to find a life purpose? Face your fears, run with scissors ha ha ha ha

    “Life is no box. Life is full of endless possibilities. Career is not the only aspect in life. Passion doesn’t limit to that dream job. There are others too. The people that we love. The places that we dream. The memories that we hold dear. The futures that we look forward to. The present that we are living in now.”

    I will write this down on my personal journal

    Love,
    Miss greedy

    Like

Leave a Reply

