Writing Challenge #7: The Gryffindor Nerd

Okay, so I totally ignored the Writing Challenge..for more than a month. And I don’t feel guilty about it. at. all. 

This topic was requested by a friend of mine, who obviously is a hard-core fan of Hermione Granger or Emma Watson. Well, they’re the same person anyway. I mean, yeah, Emma played Hermione, but Emma is Hermione and Hermione is Emma. You get what I mean? Never mind.

It just happened that yesterday I stumbled upon this video on Facebook.

In this video, Emma interviewed the youngest-ever Nobel Peace Prize winner, Malala Youzafsai. Click here for her wiki page if you have no idea about her.

Then I made a mental note to include the book ‘I am Malala’ to my books-to-read-list.

No, I’m not gonna write any of my opinion or thoughts about the video and the issues that were brought, which were mostly about feminism, gender equality and women’s rights for education. I just don’t feel like writing about such deep issues right now. Yeah, you got a silly lazy dumb writer here.

Don’t get me wrong. The video was amazing. Those two are absolutely two inspiring women and I feel as if I’m just a tiny little ant compared to them.

I do feel so small. The most worthy causes that I fight for everyday is just simply too self-centered causes. I fight because I believe I deserve not to work that hard. I fight because I believe in procrastinating. I fight because I believe that it is not a guilt to abandon a blog.

I fight for me. They fight for the world.

It’s also easy to argue that not everyone is destined to be big. Some are destined to be small and invisible. Some are destined to have great impact in humanity. Most of us fall to the first category.

Maybe it is too ambitious to become like Hermione, Emma and Malala, but  inside each of us, there must have been a cause that we really care about.

No, we don’t necessarily have to support any worldly impact causes such as feminism, LGBT, certain political views, cancer cure, or world peace. Of course, it is good to truly and sincerely fight for those causes, but what happens most is that our circle of influence are not that big (or, yet). It is okay to focus on smaller causes that we can reach out in our daily lives.

We may not and will not be the youngest-ever Nobel Peace Prize winner or the UN Women Goodwill Ambassador, but we definitely can be the agent of change in our family, our circle of friends, our work, our surrounding. And that change starts from within ourselves.

To change the world is indeed a noble cause, but we can’t change the world if we don’t change ourselves.

Be the change you want to see in the world. – Mahatma Gandhi

I know I have gone off-topic so I will close this post with some quotes from Hermione and Emma. Please read them below and you will realize how it is so hard not to fall in love with them.

Hermione

Honestly, am I the only person who’s ever bothered to read Hogwarts, A History?

Oh for heaven’s sake! Listen to me, all of you! You’ve got just as much right as wizards to be unhappy! You’ve got the right to wages and holidays and proper clothes, you don’t have to do everything you’re told — look at Dobby!

So the Daily Prophet exists to tell people what they want to hear, does it?

The truth is that you don’t think a girl would have been clever enough!

Fear of a name only increases fear of the thing itself.

Emma

I don’t want other people to decide who I am. I want to decide that for myself.

I try and intellectualize a lot, which she does as well obviously. She’s very determined, I am as well. I like to think that I am very loyal in the same way that she is. Bit of a feminist in the same way that she is. I will speak my mind in the same way that she does.

I don’t want the fear of failure to stop me from doing what I really care about.

It sounds so geeky, but I really do like studying and reading, and if I’m not working on ‘Harry Potter,’ then my greatest relaxation is to sit with a book.

It sounds like a cliche but I also learnt that you’re not going to fall for the right person until you really love yourself and feel good about how you are.

I keep telling myself that I’m a human being who’s not made to look like a doll.

Becoming yourself is really hard and confusing, and it’s a process. It’s often not cool to be the person who puts themselves out there.

Girls should never be afraid to be smart.

I have realized that fighting for women’s rights has too often become synonymous with man-hating. If there is one thing I know for certain, it is that this has to stop.

Feminism is not here to dictate to you. It’s not prescriptive, it’s not dogmatic. All we are here to do is give you a choice. If you want to run for Prime Minister, you can. If you don’t, that’s wonderful, too. Shave your armpits, don’t shave them, wear flats one day, heels the next.

Beauty is not long hair, skinny legs, tanned skin or perfect teeth. Believe me. Beauty is the face of who cried and now smiles, beauty is the scar on your knee since you fell when you were a kid, beauty is the circles when love doesn’t let you sleep, beauty is the expression on the face when the alarm rings in the morning, it’s the melted makeup when you have a shower, it’s the laughter when you make a joke you’re the only one who can understand, beauty is meeting his gaze and stopping understanding, beauty is your gaze when you see him, it’s when you cry for all you paranoias, beauty is the lines marked by time. Beauty is what we feel in the inside which also shows outside us. Beauty is the marks the life leaves on us, all the kicks and the caresses the memories leave us. Beauty is letting yourself live.

Leave a Reply

