Disconnected

I have been overly active in social media this past one month. I updated my blog at least once a week. I posted every instagram-material dishes that I have cooked. I even posted a photo of a concert that I went to. I may sound like a hypocrite if I admit that I didn’t enjoy the attention, the likes, the comments, etc.

I didn’t realize there was something wrong until last week when I found out that I spent 1GB from my mobile data plan for one week. I have survived IGB for the whole month before. This was obviously unhealthy.

I reflected back and therefore I confessed my sins. The first thing that I did after I wake up was to check my instagram, facebook, and blog. I wanted to see how many likes that I got, whether there was any new comments, or how many new visitors visited my blog. At first, these were flattering and I felt the urge to post more in hopeless and desperate hope that I would ‘inspire’ someone out there. But well who am I? I am just a person who has nothing much to do, who is not too busy with her offline life, like anybody else.

So I decided to take a break. I deleted my instagram and facebook apps in my phone for a while….until I figure out what I really want to do with it, including this blog. Maybe just one post once a while will do. Let’s take it slowly and take my own sweet sweet time.

What is shared online doesn’t add any value to what happens offline. It is what it is.

Let’s think about it. What is our motivation to share?

2 thoughts on “Disconnected

  1. sanctunerdy says:

    Its indeed the right thing to do to take some time to reflect 🙂

    To disconnect i think it’s more than eliminating the noises.

    Love your writting as always.

    Your forever sista!

    Liked by 1 person

    • potatato says:

      Dear my forever sista, thank you for visiting and dropping a comment! Yeah I guess it also allows us to make time more for other things that are usually missed out because we are too busy to connect ‘out there’

      Like

Leave a Reply

